• If you are new to GiantScaleNews.com, please register, introduce yourself, and make yourself at home.

We're 1st in Giant Scale RC because we've got the best membership on the internet! Take a look around and don't forget to register to get all of the benefits of GSN membership!

Welcome!

Race to the rain

Red Raider

70cc twin V2
Greetings all! This is my very first post on this forum. I've been a member of RCU before it was RCU, and a member of RCGroups since '06. I'm glad to see this new forum and I hope the pissin' and moanin' that has become common place on the other forums will truly be non-existent on this one.

First about my forum name, Red Raider. I'm a Texas tech alum having done all bachelor's, masters and ph.d. work there. I grew up in Lubbock, and never wanted to go anywhere else. It's a great university even though this year we sucked at football and looks like basketball won't be much different. But, it's home and you've got to root for the home team.

Now about my signature line, "race to the rain". This comes straight from NASCAR. I was watching a race, I believe it was the Daytona 500. Rain was imminent. Everyone could see it coming on the radar and in the sky. One of the pit crew told his driver you have to race to the rain. The moral of the story is that you're not going to make the full race as you expected to when it started, the rain is coming. But you race as hard as you can, as fast as you can, pedal to the firewall, hair on fire, nothing held back until the rain comes and ends your race. A philosophy for life that I try to live by. Even though I can't go as fast as I used to ;)