• If you are new to GiantScaleNews.com, please register, introduce yourself, and make yourself at home.

We're 1st in Giant Scale RC because we've got the best membership on the internet! Take a look around and don't forget to register to get all of the benefits of GSN membership!

Welcome!
  • Unless you are a paid advertiser NO more posting advertisement in the individual vendor forums. You may post in the Manufacturer's Announcements section only but only ONCE a month unless your a paid advertiser.

standard and metric rant!

mazjag

50cc
Hey guys,,I have a beef with several high quality airplane manufactures that continue to use metric and standard hardware...why? I just got my new 70 velox to find it had 5mm motor box screws and 4-40 land gear mounts..I`m a mechanic by trade and I like nice tools therefore I don`t want to but 2 sets of nice hex drivers to put together a plane..It makes no sense to me..Several OS engines come with a 1/4 -28 nut..The engine is from Japan so why does it have a 1/4-28 nut? Dubro is about the worst as they still think its is 1980..

That is my rant..I`ll get past it, but its dumb never the less...Make all the S*** metric that way we cannot strip stuff etc..The auto industry learned this years back..my 2 cents..Jason

Last edited by a moderator:

Av8r RC

50cc
Being a mechanic you should be used to it. Just like a 88' Pontiac. lol

Kidding aside, I feel your pain. I'm a machinist and I am constantly having to convert metric prints and dimensions to inches. And because the US still hasn't converted to metric like the rest of the world it causes me big pains. I see prints all the time for parts 10mm thick. And since i can't get metric sized material cheap (usually 3~4x) or quickly. I have to use 1/2" thick stuff and cut it down to 10mm. A lot of extra machining to do that. Then the customer wants to know why it cost so much to make the part. :rolleyes: And I got to try and compete with China.