• If you are new to GiantScaleNews.com, please register, introduce yourself, and make yourself at home.

We're 1st in Giant Scale RC because we've got the best membership on the internet! Take a look around and don't forget to register to get all of the benefits of GSN membership!

Welcome!

What 3D Champion Fly's What?

AKfreak

150cc
A silly title right. When looking for the actual type of plane the top flyers use its hard to find much information in a single place. I am kind of new to this stuff, and I am very interested in what make of plane the top guys are using for 3D. I see a lot of guys fly the Extra. What makes the Extra such a great 3D plane. Looking at the the real planes, the MXS seems to be the up-and-com·ing plane to beat (red bull air races). So my questions is , What 3D Champion Fly's What? Do any of you guys travel the RC/Aero/3D circuit, ie Tucson, Nall, Huckfest, ect.. If so what are the hot pilots flyng?

In the end, I am looking for information that can lead me to the best 3D plane design. I understand some of the differences in precision aerobatic and a 3D plane. I am more after a 3D monster that flys exceptionally well in post stall, that is kind of short coupled so it can tumble well, than lands easy in a full stall landings (I don't like to land hot).

I cant wait to hear what you guys have to say. AKf

3dNater

3DRCF Regional Ambassador
This is an interesting topic. The answer isn't simple so it will likely come down to a bunch of opinions. The model the plane is patterned after makes a difference, but the way the modeling company tweaked it matters more. You will find that an extra is not an extra, an edge is not an edge, etc. They way the designers put them together makes the biggest difference in terms of strength and flying characteristics.

Pretty much all of the major brands have planes that fly well enough that a top pilot could fly it in competition and score well.

What size of plane are you looking for?

AKfreak

150cc