• If you are new to GiantScaleNews.com, please register, introduce yourself, and make yourself at home.

We're 1st in Giant Scale RC because we've got the best membership on the internet! Take a look around and don't forget to register to get all of the benefits of GSN membership!

Welcome!

Inside Flying!

Zeeb

30cc
Well I guess I can chime in even though I cannot fly anymore?

I started chasing a Private license in 1966 and got to solo but then quit. In 1978 I got a part time job at the local FBO sweeping hangars, mowing the lawn and such as a part time job. I was a full time FireFighter/Paramedic at the time and worked the airport part time. By 1982, I decided I needed to finish stuff so I started flying 3 times a week. Then the guy I was working for started pulling my name off the schedule if the shop was busy since I had my A&P Licenses by then, so I quit the part time job, borrowed the money to finish the ratings they could give me, Commercial, High Performance, Instrument, tailwheel and moved on. I got a job flying for a local heli outfit who'd just started flying Medical heli's in addition to the usual seismic stuff and they were really growing.

I hauled parts, pilots and other things around to the various seismic sites and crawled into any of the fixed wing turbines anytime anyone would let me go.... lol

Finally got my multi rating and started flying the piston twins on various missions. Last, when the company really got into the aeromedical end of things, I got to do a lot of flying the company execs around the country to bid hospital contracts. That got sticky and the Fire Chief told me I had to decide where I wanted to work as I was gone so much from the Fire Station. I elected to keep the job with a retirement and health care.