• If you are new to GiantScaleNews.com, please register, introduce yourself, and make yourself at home.

We're 1st in Giant Scale RC because we've got the best membership on the internet! Take a look around and don't forget to register to get all of the benefits of GSN membership!

Welcome!

Question? iCharger 306b vs. 3010b question

What is the benefit of the iCharger 3010b over the 306b? They both have the same output and the only thing I can see is that the 3010b is for upto 10 cell lipos (do 8, 10, or 12 cell lipos exist?). For parallel charging (2)- 6s-5000mAh lipos at a 2c or 3c charge rate would the 30A output be enough or would I be better off with a 40A Cellpro? I'm still learning all this e-power stuff so be easy on me. :)

rcbirk21

70cc twin V2
What is the benefit of the iCharger 3010b over the 306b? They both have the same output and the only thing I can see is that the 3010b is for upto 10 cell lipos (do 8, 10, or 12 cell lipos exist?). For parallel charging (2)- 6s-5000mAh lipos at a 2c or 3c charge rate would the 30A output be enough or would I be better off with a 40A Cellpro? I'm still learning all this e-power stuff so be easy on me. :)

you are exactly right, the 3010 can do 10s, while the 306 can only do up to 6s. The 3010 came out first, so you will see a lot of people have it (like me) who bought it before the 306b came out. Right now, with parallel charging, the only reason to get the 3010b is if you have 10s packs (most people use 2x 5s anyways). For what you want, get the 306B.

SnowDog

Yep, you are correct. I've got the 306b and it works great. I do not have a need to charge 10S packs, so 6S is fine as a max for me.
I parallel charge 4s and 6s packs on my 306b and it does the job splendidly.

wedoitall