• If you are new to GiantScaleNews.com, please register, introduce yourself, and make yourself at home.

We're 1st in Giant Scale RC because we've got the best membership on the internet! Take a look around and don't forget to register to get all of the benefits of GSN membership!

Welcome!
  • Unless you are a paid advertiser NO more posting advertisement in the individual vendor forums. You may post in the Manufacturer's Announcements section only but only ONCE a month unless your a paid advertiser.

3D foamy for up to 15 mph winds!

Yoda

30cc
I am new to 3D and am really excited by the prospect of flying it well. I want the PA Katana MX but fear I may destroy it in the first few flights. In other threads I have posted in, and received advice, it is suggested that I go for a foamy first and progress from there. I have decided to take that advice but where I fly the wind is rarely less than 5 - 10 mph. I understand that foamys are light and are not really suited to windy situations. I have looked through the 3Drc forum sites and other forums to find information on a 3 D foamy that will handle winds of up to 15 mph but so far had nothing definitive to choose from. the crack yak 55 seems it might be big enough to handle some wind but not much. I have also looked at some of the 3DRC slick 51 amongst others, but they are balsa and probably not as bouncy and forgiving as EPP. I seem to be between a rock and a hard place when it comes to finding a good plane for my situation. I would appreciate any advice. :confused:

3dmike

640cc Uber Pimp