• If you are new to GiantScaleNews.com, please register, introduce yourself, and make yourself at home.

We're 1st in Giant Scale RC because we've got the best membership on the internet! Take a look around and don't forget to register to get all of the benefits of GSN membership!

Welcome!
  • Unless you are a paid advertiser NO more posting advertisement in the individual vendor forums. You may post in the Manufacturer's Announcements section only but only ONCE a month unless your a paid advertiser.

The EXTRA 300 EXT Build Thread

AKfreak

150cc
After many hours of searching and trying to find a big airplane that I can afford, I bought an Extra 300, I call it the EXT edition as in Extreme Turd. I am too embarrassed to even tell you guy much I paid or even tell you who makes it.

I am new to 3D, but I try every day to get better. I haven't been flying RC planes very long (60 days or so), but I am a fast learner. I have build 3 Balsa ARF's in my short time in the hobby along with 6 or 7 foamies, F3P to 3D planes. Like I said I fly every day (Vegas has great weather) and use Phoenix sim and fly indoors when its too windy.

I desperately want to fly bigger planes, thus the obsession for tying to find one I can afford. I know you get what you pay for in this hobby, but I rather have a Turd then nothing at all. With that said, I will start this thread to show people like me that aren't rich men that we can play with bigger planes too. Or I will show that you shouldn't waste your money on junk, and save to buy somthing better later on.

So here we go, a sneak peak of the plane that I am going to build next.
13099885675_b705c47c48_c.jpg

AKfreak

150cc
OK, just a little more of your time on the motor subject. My Extra build manual says the plane flying weight is 11 lbs. I am trying to pick the correct KV Motorfly 4330 motor for my 6S packs (TP 5000mah 45&70C packs). I want post stall performance and lots of power to pull out if I need it.