• If you are new to GiantScaleNews.com, please register, introduce yourself, and make yourself at home.

We're 1st in Giant Scale RC because we've got the best membership on the internet! Take a look around and don't forget to register to get all of the benefits of GSN membership!

Welcome!

RX/Ignition batteries Pros & Cons?

TXCranedriver

New to GSN!
Hello all this is my first time posting here. I have a couple of questions about batteries. I am building a 3dhobbyshop 92"edge and was trying to decide on what batteries to use on the RX and ignition for the DLE 61. Lipo, Life, A123, Nimn,... pros and cons. I will have a miracle switch and would like to be able to use the charging ports on said switch. I would love to be able to fly all day on one charge and so will be running redundant RX batteries. Any help is appreciated, thanks!

+1 on BB's setup. I run exactly the same setup on an 88" Edge. One soft switch to run the whole plane, no switches to fail or worry about. Between the battery types you mentioned I lean toward A123 as my favorite and Lipo second. I'm not as keen on the Life packs and I have gotten rid of all Nixx chemistry packs.

TXCranedriver

New to GSN!
Yeah I have been looking at running two A123's both connected to the RX. Been reading up on Hang Time RC about NoBs batteries. There is a lot of info on his page. He shows using two switches so you can charge each independently. I can use the miracle switch for both RX batts but I would still have to have another switch for my ignition.

TXCranedriver

New to GSN!
Nice. I have never heard of it since I have been out of the hobby for a while but I just looked it up. If I run two 2500mah A123's it should be plenty to run the RX and the ignition with the IBEC.

Bbcorvette18

70cc twin V2
Yup I run 2 2200s in my setup the 50cc used about 450 mah per flight the 35%er is using close to 700mah per flight.

TXCranedriver

New to GSN!