• If you are new to GiantScaleNews.com, please register, introduce yourself, and make yourself at home.

We're 1st in Giant Scale RC because we've got the best membership on the internet! Take a look around and don't forget to register to get all of the benefits of GSN membership!

Welcome!

Discussion Gas vs. Electric

I am looking to make the jump into larger sized aircraft. I have been flying small electrics (48") for a few years now. I have moved in the past year and with the move I have changed flying sites. My flying site used to be a smooth surface (geotextile fabric) and I am now flying off of a grass strip. My 48" electrics can fly off of the grass ok, but they are really too small for that type of field so that is really why I am looking to jump a larger size of aircraft.

When flying the smaller aircraft I opted to go electric because I thought that it would be cheaper/cleaner/easier than going nitro. Now that I am looking at aircraft in the 30cc range it is looking like going the gas route would be the cheaper way to go if I am going to be flying anything 6s and above. I have never had a gas airplane before so I am wondering what the pros/cons are of between a gasser and an electric in this size range. If any of you guys can offer perspective from each side that would be great. Thanks!

HH

rcbirk21

70cc twin V2
i am in the camp that a 30cc 3d plane flies better electric than gas. but that is merely an opinion. the general pros/cons you will get:

gas pros: longer flight times, no need for big charging setup, fuel flip fly (no waiting on charged packs or cost of having a larger number of packs)