• If you are new to GiantScaleNews.com, please register, introduce yourself, and make yourself at home.

We're 1st in Giant Scale RC because we've got the best membership on the internet! Take a look around and don't forget to register to get all of the benefits of GSN membership!

Welcome!

3D Demystifying Vacuum Bagging of foam wings!!

Terryscustom

640cc Uber Pimp
Don't be scared, once you've taken the leap you will never go back! Vacuuming foam parts for airplanes does require some upfront investment, but the good news is the items required can be re-used dozens of times. If you are a builder and have friends that build planes consider going in on a system together if needed. The finished weight, strength, quality and time investment all benefit from vacuum bagging.

I drug my feet for two years, since I'm a relatively new builder it seemed like a huge step. @Fixed Wing kept giving me grief about it so I finally caved. I really really hate to give a link to "the other site", but it's a short thread so if you get in and get out you should be safe;). Dean did a nice description of his vacuum system over there and you can find that here: http://www.GiantScaleNews.com/forums/showthread.php?t=61274&highlight=fix wing vacuum system

I opted to buy a ready built system from ACP composites. I've purchased a number of things from them over the years and they have great prices and service. They have all of the parts and components needed for a simple system. I also built another system of my own with a larger pump and all the switches and accessories from ACP, so you can also do that and safe a few bucks.

Here is the ACP Systems and accessories page: http://www.acpsales.com/Vacuum-Bagging.html

image001.JPG image002.JPG image003.JPG image004.JPG image005.JPG

Last edited by a moderator:

ericb

Team WTFO
GSN Contributor
It has been very enlightening to be able to watch Terry in person. The wings that come out of his shop are second to none.

Terryscustom