• If you are new to GiantScaleNews.com, please register, introduce yourself, and make yourself at home.

We're 1st in Giant Scale RC because we've got the best membership on the internet! Take a look around and don't forget to register to get all of the benefits of GSN membership!

Welcome!
  • Unless you are a paid advertiser NO more posting advertisement in the individual vendor forums. You may post in the Manufacturer's Announcements section only but only ONCE a month unless your a paid advertiser.

3DHS 59" AJ Slick

Recently picked up a 59" 3DHS Slick during the garage sale held here on 3drcforums and wanted to write a small review on it based on the pros, cons, and things I found while building and flying the plane. Let me preface this by saying this is my first official review, I am an intermediate/advanced pilot and a novice 3d pilot (i can do the basics, but rollers and such still elude me), I have owned many planes in the year and a half i have been flying including 3d planes from the big 3 (3dhs, EF, PA) and will be bringing up some of the differences in the review between these planes, i hold no brand allegiance but i fly the planes enjoy.

The Unboxing:

Yes the part of the review everybody looks forward to the oh so exciting unboxing. This was one of the items from the 3dhs garage sale i picked up for $150 shipped (normal retail is $299.99 plus shipping) based on what was being called "water damage on exterior box"...water damage, aka it looks like somebody dribbled some water on the box if you really looked hard at it. Typical packaging from companies that know how to ship these things; double boxed, all items taped down securely, everything in protective bags, wings in their wing bags, ect. All items were in the box and undamaged.

It was like christmas: 59" Slick, servos, esc, 103g motor for 42" slick, and a60-18l i also got in the garage sale
DSCN1128_zps061a4192.jpg

DSCN1131_zpsc08ebcbd.jpg

DSCN1132_zps79998c85.jpg