• If you are new to GiantScaleNews.com, please register, introduce yourself, and make yourself at home.

We're 1st in Giant Scale RC because we've got the best membership on the internet! Take a look around and don't forget to register to get all of the benefits of GSN membership!

Welcome!

Sheeting foam wings, how much weight is enough??

Bartman

Defender of the Noob!
Hi folks,

I've got an old Lanier 81" Cap 232 kit that is going to be my next build project but I've never done foam wings before. It's just something I've always tried to avoid doing.

The builder of my Carden Cap walked me through what I think is a great procedure for sheeting the wings but I'm not sure just how much weight I've got to use when compressing the wings/sheeting in the scrap foam that they're packed in.

Each wing panel is about 38" and so the plan is to lay a piece of 3/4" plywood over the stack and then put the weight on top of that. An option may be to borrow some 25lb weight lifting plates from a friend of mine so I might have 100 pounds or so from them but can there really even be too much weight for this?

I've also got the materials and stuff (from another project that didn't get completed, custom wing tips for a Pitts S1 project) to vacuum bag the wings but I'm going to pass on that as I've never actually tried vacuum bagging something and I'd like to do it the basic way before trying a more advanced way.

Thanks!
Bart

Jetpainter

640cc Uber Pimp
I've always used weight in the past, and put as much on as I could find.

The next time I'm going to vacuum bag. Terry (Terryscustom) is going to be bagging a set soon, and is planing on making a video of the process. He's got it down, and I'm looking forward to the video.

Terryscustom

640cc Uber Pimp