• If you are new to GiantScaleNews.com, please register, introduce yourself, and make yourself at home.

We're 1st in Giant Scale RC because we've got the best membership on the internet! Take a look around and don't forget to register to get all of the benefits of GSN membership!

Welcome!

First 3D balsa

Mopar32985

New to GSN!
Well i guess to start off i have been flying for about 5 years and im looking to get my first balsa plane. What im looking for is something that is very forgiving so it makes me feel more relaxed jumping into balsa. The main criteria im looking for is a bird that runs off of 3s but if there is something that any of you would reccomend even if not a 3s plane please feel free to let me know. The main birds i have been looking at so far is the PA Addiction X. Seems like one of the largest birds i can go with and still stick to the 3s. Any other help or suggestion would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

-Chance-

gyro

GSN Contributor
Other 3s airplanes to consider (I personally think the Edge airframe design is very stable and forgiving as a first airplane):

3D HobbyShop 48" Edge with an Omega 130g motor, 60A ESC, 14x7 prop, and 3s 2200-2600 batteries. ---great starter plane with sprung steel landing gear than can be bent back into place after a less than perfect landing
ExtremeFlight RC 48" Edge. this plane really cooks on 4s, but with the right motor and prop, 3s will work fine. The recommended Torque motor with a 13x6.5 on 3s will work, and some have also liked the Motrolfly 2820-950 and a 13x6.5.

If you throw the PA Addiction-X in there, I'd rank that one last of the bunch, as they don't seem to hold up to abuse as well as the others, and since this is your first Balsa airplane, I think you'd enjoy something durable.

In the end, pic the one that looks the best! They'll all work fine :)

Mopar32985

New to GSN!