• If you are new to GiantScaleNews.com, please register, introduce yourself, and make yourself at home.

We're 1st in Giant Scale RC because we've got the best membership on the internet! Take a look around and don't forget to register to get all of the benefits of GSN membership!

Welcome!

Cold weather flying

Bushwacker

3DRCF Moderator
So it's going to be about 32 degrees and sunny today and I really want to take my new plane out for it's maiden. As Im new to this hobby I don't know what if any affect cold weather has on ultracoat or balsa or glue joints and so on. I know my Heli"s love this kind of weather, but don't know about planes. Don't know if it makes any difference or not, but the plane is a 3DHS 65" Vyper.

So any advice or thoughts on this would be great and thanks much. :)

3dNater

3DRCF Regional Ambassador
Cold weather makes glue a little more brittle, but it shouldn't keep you from flying. The model will hold up fine to normal abuse. I know a guy that flies electric planes all through the winter in Anchorage. Having spent a winter there I know it gets well below zero.

Just realize that cold does make the voltage on batteries drop so try to keep them warm in a pocket or something. Once you are flying the current draw should keep them warm enough.

Bushwacker

3DRCF Moderator
Dude Im trying to... Freaking work is getting in my way and it's starting to get on my nerves :grumpy: The dang field is about 500 feet away and Im looking at it right now. This is some :cursing: :bull: Such a beautiful day too. One way or another I will have it in the air today. :flyer:

3dNater

3DRCF Regional Ambassador
Just went out flying this afternoon. Boy it was windy and cold! I can now say a 15-20 mph cross-runway wind is manageable on a 50cc Pilot yak 54 with a demon cortex installed :) I can't really say it was fun... but the cortex is phenominal.

gyro

GSN Contributor